Systems Development Life Cycle SDLC - Meaning & Definition

Published in Information Technology & Systems by MBA Skool Team, Last Updated: May 26, 2013

What is Systems Development Life Cycle SDLC?

Systems Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is an approach used generally in software development, where in each stage of development is well defined, and done in a structured and methodological manner.

The Systems Development Life Cycle (SDLC) originated somewhere in the 1960s, and provides a defined sequence of activities for software developers to follow. The important phases of the Systems Development Life Cycle are:

-          Planning

-          Requirement Gathering

-          Design

-          Implementation

-          Testing and Maintenance

The purpose of a Systems Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is to adhere to client orders in a structured, effective manner and to ensure better o time delivery and efficiency.

SDLC can follow a number of approaches, which include agile as well as prototype based approaches. There have been many models within SDLC to define the flow in a better way.

The various models in SDLC are as follows:

  • Waterfall Model: Basic, preliminary sequential model with four stages
  • Prototype Model
  • Spiral Model: follows through each of the stages of the waterfall model, multiple times while developing the prototype.
  • Fountain Model
  • Build and Fix Model
  • Rapid Application Development (RAD)

Hence, this concludes the definition of Systems Development Life Cycle SDLC along with its overview.

This article has been researched & authored by the Business Concepts Team. It has been reviewed & published by the MBA Skool Team. The content on MBA Skool has been created for educational & academic purpose only.

Browse the definition and meaning of more similar terms. The Management Dictionary covers over 1800 business concepts from 5 categories.

Continue Reading:

Share this Page on:
Facebook ShareTweetShare on Linkedin