Hierarchy of Needs Maslow

Posted in Marketing and Strategy Terms, Total Reads: 4286

Definition: Hierarchy of Needs Maslow

It is the theory of psychology which categorizes the need of human into five types. It was developed by Abraham Maslow in 1943. The five levels of need are as follows:

Physiological Need: It is considered as the most basic need of the human and is placed at the bottom of Maslow need Hierarchy pyramid.It should be meet first before meeting the other needs. It means the need associated to human for their existence and survival. Food, shelter and clothing can be considered the example of physiological need.

Safety Need: These are placed above Physiological need in the pyramid and are required only when those are met. These means the need of protection from the threats. These can be of any form i.e. health, financial, physical etc.

Psychological need: These are the need for love and affection and are required when safety needs are met. In this part a person looks for belongingness with his friends and family.

Esteem Needs: in this human looks for the respect and the sense of acceptance in the society. Fame and glory fulfills the esteem needs of the person.

Self- Actualization need:  it is the top most need of the human being and in this person want to achieve success and want to utilize his potential to his best. That means a person want to achieve the highest level he can.

Hence, this concludes the definition of Hierarchy of Needs Maslow along with its overview.


Browse the definition and meaning of more terms similar to Hierarchy of Needs Maslow. The Management Dictionary covers over 7000 business concepts from 6 categories.

Search & Explore : Management Dictionary

Share this Page on:
Facebook ShareTweetShare on G+Share on Linkedin